pokewalkers >> swifty's hq v2.2 > main > blog

Back and Forth

portrait

valentimes.... i celebrated my sixth anniversary with my sweet girlfriend recently, i just came back from visiting her up in oregon. it's interesting how i feel coming back 'home'; every time i come back it feels more like im actually going on a vacation, rather than returning home after a long time!! i really enjoy going over to her house and i might be visiting her again this summer while her family's out visiting other family overseas.

i love visiting my girlfriend in person a lot. it's a lot nicer now that i have the cpap machine, also, because i don't snore at all now. the most that bothers her when we share a bed is that, in her words, "i occaisonally was like "whoops forests like < shaped and ur butt is poking me" but that was like once or twice over the entire stay". so theres the reviews. theyre in. and they spell disaster for you at sacrifice.

ive gotten used to my daily routine of wearing a sock on at least one leg and maintaining my cpap machine. it's nice to have a nightly routine of brushing my teeth and cleaning my cpap addons before bed. feels like a ritual. also, my dad got me a new pillow, so i've been getting used to that. it's nice.

i got into ffxiv. i know, nightmare! but i think it's actually good at being an mmo, somehow. the only other mmo i played significantly was guild wars 2, so i can't help but compare the two. they're still fairly different; ffxiv feels less like im going through every place and completing all the quests in a big sweep, and more like im just accepting five million quests and forgetting them. i also enjoy that ffxiv has a whole fishing side-thing.

that said, ffxiv also has the strangest restrictions for f2p users. you can't send friend requests or private messages, or join a 'free company' (like a guild), or use macros (????!??? weirdest quirk by far???), or use the player marketplace, or make parties (what the fuck). you can only do that if you get a subscription. stupid as fuck not going to lie. the frq thing being sub only... well, it almost made me stop playing, LOL. thankfully one of my friends does have a subscription still active, so we've been doing main story quests together with her as party-making utility.

oh, also, my new gpu will be here soon... i got it as a late birthday gift (thanks, autumn!), as my birthday was on the 27th last month and i havent upgraded my gpu since 2017ish. this 1050 ti is ready to gtfo. i just need to get a proper psu for the new gpu (rx 580, a decent upgrade benchmark-wise from my prior one!) and i can install it.

anyway. i hesitate to say 'sorry for not updating in a while', because, well, this is a hobbyist website first and foremost, and i want to make sure this isn't like, work, or a chore for me. but still, i hope my energy levels can stay high enough to maintain the website more actively. especially since the second anniversary is coming up so soon.... i'd like to do a little something for it!

stay tuned,

forest's signature

playing: final fantasy 14
feeling: tired
outside it is: overcast overcast